“To save a life is to save all of humanity”

The title of this article is the motto of the White Helmets.

I would first like to encourage everyone to register to vote!! I have a link on my blog that provides more information about voter registration. Not everyone has the opportunity to vote, and we need to exercise this right. Do not sit out on voting in this election. Not voting or voting for a third party is a vote for the opposing political party. I could not be more excited to be able to vote for Hillary Clinton in this election. Please look at her website for more information about her stance on issues, her campaign or how to support (https://www.hillaryclinton.com).

I would also like to extend a special thank you to the United Nations Association USA-Greater Birmingham Chapter for sharing my work and my blog on their Facebook page. I am so extremely passionate about this cause and any support is so valued and appreciated. I ask everyone who reads this to share this blog with their friends and families. This war is not going to stop anytime soon. The refugees will not stop coming anytime soon. This crisis will continue, and we need to help. Please go to https://www.facebook.com/UNAUSAGreaterBirmingham/ to learn more about UNA-USA and read their post about my work.

In late September, fires broke out at Moria, causing approximately 4,400 refugees to flee. The exact cause of the fire is unknown, but unrest and frustration has risen among the refugees. They are uncertain about their future. Their living conditions are miserable. They do not know if they will have a life outside of the war.Thankfully, Pikpa took in some of the refugees. They have provided them with shelter, food, and clothing. But most importantly they have provided them with support and care. Please donate to Pikpa. Now more than ever they need our help. They do not have enough resources to sustain the refugees, so please help them.

I just watched the documentary on Netflix titled: “The White Helmets”. This documentary offers a unique look into the war in Syria, and those who are saving lives. The White Helmets are a group of unarmed civilizations who perform rescue missions to help those in need. When tragedy strikes, the White Helmets rush in to save lives. More than 50 bombs and mortars a day hit innocent neighborhoods, killing or injuring innocent civilians. These bombings do not care who they kill. They will target anyone and anything. These heroes risk their lives and everything to save someone.

This documentary broke my heart. Truly, I cried throughout the entire film. It breaks my heart to see such carnage. It breaks my heart because it will not stop. The war is not over, and the war will not be over soon. Every person deserves to fulfill their dreams and goals in life. And this war takes that away. It strips away their life for no reason. How can anyone support a war that takes away the lives of such beautiful souls? How can anyone stand by when children are being murdered daily because they happen to live in the wrong city? It breaks my heart to know that many people do not see this war as their problem. This war is our problem. These are our brothers and sisters that are being killed. These are citizens of the world who share the same hopes and dreams for themselves. They also want to live a life full of happiness. This is why I continue to write. I am trying to do what I can to help. I am trying to bring this issue to people’s attention. I am using my skills and talents to help. I ask everyone to use their skills and their talents to help in any way that they can.

141 White Helmets have been killed. But they have saved over 62,000 lives. I ask everyone to take time to watch “The White Helmets” and visit their website https://www.whitehelmets.org. Please donate to the White Helmets to help them replace rescue equipment and ambulances that have been bombed. Also, I ask everyone to sign the petition on their website for the UN to follow through with their ban on barrel bombs.

“It is better to do humanitarian work than to be armed. Better to rescue a soul than to take one”- Mohammed Farah

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

